Rumbaugh Elementary School is located on School Street on the edge of Mount Pleasant. The school was built to replace Fairview Elementary School, a two-room school destroyed by fire in 1958. The school opened in 1959 and was named in honor of Lloyd F. Rumbaugh, superintendent of schools during that period.
A new gymnasium, two kindergarten rooms, a few classrooms, and state of the art technological capabilities have been added to the original building complex. The building currently houses four kindergarten and four first grade classrooms, accommodating approximately 215 students. This unique arrangement allows for a special atmosphere for the children of this community.